Go to content
Wild rugged landscape with high snow-capped mountains and lush green hills that dive into the green-bluish Hjorundfjord
Hjorundfjord
Panorama of Aurlandfjord in summer. Stegastein Viewpoint seen from above with people overlooking the unesco listed fjord
Aurlandfjord
Catamaran sailing the narrow UNESCO listed Naeroyfjord in summer. Green fjord with steep lush mountain, waterfalls and snow-capped mountains
Naeroyfjord
3 smiling back packers enjoy sun deck onboard fjord cruise Geriangerfjord ferry. Man takes picture of stunning fjord landscape
Geirnagerfjord
4 people standing outside on deck sailing through unesco nareoyfjord in cold winter. Ocean is blank and light is blue
Naeroyfjord Winter
People standing on plateau of Pulpit Rock in Lysefjord. Fjord Cruise Lysefjord tourist ferry sails below on sunny day
Puplpit Rock Lysefjord
Ice green calm Fjaerlandfjord in summer. Old boathouse and pier in front. Dramatic tall mountains and glacier in distance.
Fjaerlandfjord
Young couple sitting on the edge of wooden pier in Geirangerfjord watching tourist ferry sailing through the fjord landscape
Geirangerfjord

关于挪威峡湾,您应该知道的一切

在搜索有关挪威和西挪威的时候,“美丽的峡湾”和机会出现在谷歌搜索的榜首。下面我给您们讲述一下他们的故事。

挪威深邃、湛蓝的峡湾横贯群山,其绝美的风景,与世界上任何其他地方都截然不同。当然,峡湾不仅仅是挪威的独有风景。世界上其他经历过冰河时代的山区通常也有峡湾。然而,许多没有冰雪覆盖和蔚为壮观的峡湾都可以在挪威找到。这些著名的峡湾位于挪威西部。

什么是峡湾?

峡湾是一个关于水、冰和山的故事。峡湾是长而窄的入口,有陡峭的边坡或悬崖。它们是因为冰川加深现有的山谷,水和冰逐渐侵蚀山体而形成的。 

与流水不同,冰川会侵蚀海平面以下的地方。在冰层下,石头和碎石会进入到冰川下面和内部。这样,冰川就像一张巨大的砂纸。

挪威总共经历了 40 个冰河时代,而这些冰河时代的时间也是不同的。在每一个冰河时代,冰、融化的冰水和碎石都磨损了岩石。每个冰河时代过后,山谷就会变得越来越深。冰川、水和碎石最终造成了如此深的山谷,海水开始涌入。这就是挪威峡湾的形成过程。

大约 12,000 年前,冰从挪威最大的峡湾松恩峡湾退去。其结果是造就了今天您看到的令人惊叹的峡湾景观。

峡湾和冰川

峡湾可能很深。例如,松恩峡湾最深处有 1308 米。当您加上周围群山的高度时,您可以想象塑造今日峡湾的巨大力量。

在一些地区,冰川在最后一个冰河时代之后仍然停留在陆地上。这些冰川既在生长又在退缩。其中一些冰川直到 20 世纪 80 年代才停止生长,但现在厚度和范围都再次缩小了。 

如果您看到一个冰绿色的峡湾,这意味着附近有一个冰川。在这里,海水中含有大量来自冰川的融水。融水中的颗粒帮助峡湾呈现出美丽的翠绿色。

如果您去到费耶尔兰峡湾的最上游(费耶尔兰峡湾是从松恩峡湾突出的一处峡湾),您还可以接近挪威最大的冰川 Jostedalsbreen,在那里您可以参观挪威冰川博物馆。

您可以找到关于费耶尔兰峡湾和冰川的半日游和全日游的信息。

挪威峡湾

挪威西部以“峡湾”闻名于世。该地区以其壮观的景色而闻名,峡湾就像雕刻在周围的群山上一样。数百万年来,冰和水深深地侵蚀进了陆地,在水上和水下形成了一个迷宫般的山谷。今天,原生态的自然景观吸引了来自世界各地的游客。

挪威有 1700 多个有名字的峡湾,分布在长达 57,000 公里的挪威海岸线上。其中许多峡湾从挪威西海岸延伸开来。还有两个被列入联合国教科文组织世界遗产名录的峡湾:纳柔依峡湾和盖伦格峡湾。

不难理解为什么这两个峡湾是挪威最受欢迎的旅游目的地。陡峭的山腰直插波光粼粼的峡湾,壮观的瀑布直冲峡湾,壮美而未受破坏的自然风光和如画的小村庄以及农场,紧靠山腰。这是直接取自童话故事的奇观!

纳柔依峡湾狭窄,四周环绕着海拔 1000 多米的群山。盖伦格峡湾从高空俯瞰有梦幻般的感觉。在峡湾,您可以接近一些美丽的瀑布和小农场,今天仍然有人居住在这些小农场里面。

想了解更多关于挪威美丽的峡湾?以下是关于挪威六个最美峡湾的介绍。

1.纳柔依峡湾—被列入联合国教科文组织世界遗产名录的狭长而美丽的峡湾

纳柔依峡湾在一年中的任何时候都很漂亮。纳柔依峡湾多次被评为世界上最美丽的景点之一。美国 CNN 频道将纳柔依峡湾和盖伦格峡湾列入世界自然奇观前十名。

《国家地理》杂志此前曾将纳柔依峡湾评为“全球最佳未受破坏的旅游目的地”。因此,纳柔依峡湾被列入联合国教科文组织世界遗产名录也就不足为奇了。

纳柔依峡湾及其周围的群山会让任何人都感到惊叹。

在纳柔依峡湾的起点,坐落着居德旺恩村,在那里您还可以参观 Njardarheimr 维京村庄。在纳柔依峡湾乘坐游船经艾于兰峡湾还可前往松恩峡湾和弗洛姆。在游船上,您还能欣赏到许多令人惊叹的景点,包括瀑布和田园诗般的小村庄,很难相信真的有人生活在那里。

2.雄伟壮观的吕瑟峡湾

超过 40 公里长的吕瑟峡湾,就像已经雕刻在周围高耸的群山一样。从水上看,吕瑟峡湾的景色非常优美,但从上往下看,其景色令人印象更深刻。吕瑟峡湾沿岸最著名的两个景点是布道台和谢拉格的山地高原。

每年有超过 30,000 名游客参观布道台。从高原上看,悬崖垂直向下延伸到大海,形成了一幅引人注目的景象。布道石甚至登上了《孤独星球》世界上最令人叹为观止的观景平台的榜首。2017 年,山地高原在 CNN 的自然奇观排行榜上名列第一。

布道台也是汤姆·克鲁斯在 2018 年的电影《碟中谍 6:全面瓦解》中特技的取景点。。

吕瑟峡湾另一处著名的景点是谢拉格,步行前往该地比去布道台更具挑战性。在这个高原上,山腰从 1084 米的高度垂直下降到吕瑟峡湾。谢拉格是世界各地定点跳伞者的热门目的地。

这里还有奇迹石,这是挪威拍摄照片最多的景点之一。奇迹石是一个巨大的圆形巨石,夹在两个悬崖之间。勇敢的游客会走到奇迹石上,这是游客最喜欢的拍照点。

从斯塔万格很容易到达吕瑟峡湾。如果有一两天的空余时间,您也可以在吕瑟峡湾进行一日游。如果您有更多的时间可用,您可以上到布道台或谢拉格。

点击这里了解更多关于吕瑟峡湾和峡湾巡游的信息。

3.费耶尔兰峡湾—通往冰川的水路

小费耶尔兰峡湾通常呈现翠绿色,这是由从周围冰川流入峡湾的融水造成的。在 25 公里长的峡湾 巡游一整天,您将体验到被陡峭的山脉和雄伟的冰川所包围的美丽峡湾。一旦渡轮停靠在费耶尔兰峡湾起点,您可以乘坐穿梭巴士继续您的旅程。

在游览中,您可以在费耶尔兰的挪威冰川博物馆了解更多关于冰川的知识。从那里出发,经过一段路程就能到达最初形成峡湾的地方:冰川。再往内陆走一点,您会遇到挪威最大的冰川:Jostedalsbreen。Jostedalsbreen 冰川长 100 千米,最宽处达 15 千米,也是欧洲大陆最大的冰川。

冰川实际上由许多小冰川和冰川臂组成,包括您可以靠近的 Bøyabreen 冰川。

4.盖伦格峡湾—挪威的明信片

如果您看到挪威的明信片,上面会显示一个美丽的蓝绿色峡湾,四周是陡峭的山脉,瀑布倾泻入水中,它很可能是您所看到的盖伦格峡湾。它通常被称为“峡湾的宝石”,深受来自挪威和其他地方游客的喜爱。这一峡湾奇观被列入联合国教科文组织的世界遗产名录,同时被列为世界遗产名录的还有纳柔依峡湾,卑尔根的布吕根码头和卢斯特的乌尔内斯木板教堂,该教堂位于松恩峡湾分支的吕斯特峡湾畔。

在盖伦格峡湾游船将带您接近自然和文化—使峡湾被列入联合国教科文组织世界遗产名录。原生态的瀑布从陡峭高耸的山上倾泻而下,而在山的两侧,您会看到小农场和小房子紧靠着山腰。

如果您参观 Skageflå 农场,您就能近距离地看到这一切。从盖伦格步行就可以到达农场,或者乘船沿着一条从峡湾出发的短而陡的小径走过去。

如果您站在 Skageflå 或其他许多景点的高处,您可以看到被列入联合国教科文组织世界遗产名录的峡湾最壮观的景象。从上往下看。另一个不错的景点是达尔斯尼巴的盖伦格天空步道。

如果您可以在盖伦格停留一段时间,您可以到内陆旅行去参观一些挪威最美的山脉。这里一年四季都为冰雪覆盖,您甚至可以在炎热的夏季打雪仗!

挪威最壮观的道路—特罗斯蒂根—就在盖伦格旁边。沿着这条道路游览,会让您心跳加速,无论您是步行,骑行或驾车旅行。

如果您想了解更多或去盖伦格峡湾乘船巡游,点击这里可以找到您所需的全部信息。

5.Hjørund 峡湾—孙墨尔阿尔卑斯山的秘密宝石

Hjörund 峡湾隐匿在美丽、狂野的孙墨尔阿尔卑斯山下闪闪发光。峡湾以其尖峰切入山区 33 千米。

Hjörundfjorden 周围环绕着未受破坏的自然景观和美丽的小村庄。有些地方只能乘船才能到达。船在田园诗般的新艺术小镇奥勒松和位于 Hjörund 峡湾源头的 Øye 村之间航行。

在 Hjörund 峡湾及其周围地区,未被破坏的大自然环境是进行冒险活动的绝佳场所。它是徒步旅行者、皮划艇运动员和滑雪者的天堂。所有你需要做的就是在峡湾巡游的时候在特兰达尔,乌尔克或 Øye 下船进行体验。

如果您想放松一下,感受一下这里的气氛,可以参观历史悠久的 Union Øye 酒店,这是一家自 1891 年开业以来,就一直备受皇室成员、作家和作曲家的青睐的酒店。许多人继续在这里寻找宁静,享受美好的生活,欣赏峡湾和山脉。

6.松恩峡湾—挪威最长的峡湾

雄伟的松恩峡湾横跨挪威西部的大部分地区。这个挪威最长的峡湾长 204 千米,拥有丰富的文化底蕴和壮丽的风景。

松恩峡湾的景观非常适合进行安静地峡湾巡游、以及远足、滑雪、钓鱼和冰川之旅。这是最佳状态。

松恩峡湾也是世界上最长的无冰峡湾。它延伸到挪威内陆,距离佐敦海门仅几公里,佐敦海门是一个山区,在那里您会发现许多挪威的高山。松恩峡湾也是挪威最深的峡湾之一,其最深处达到 1300 米。

当冰川蜿蜒进入挪威西部山区时,至少有 30 条峡湾的支流分叉。已列入联合国教科文组织的世界遗产名录的艾于兰峡湾和纳柔依峡湾,费耶尔兰峡湾,吕斯特峡湾,松达尔峡湾和高普内峡湾只是其中的几个。 

挪威最大的冰川

一些山谷在峡湾的尽头有冰川。有冰川融水的峡湾呈现独特的翠绿色。当冰川的融水将峡湾染成绿色时,这一景象变得清晰可见。

欧洲大陆最大的冰川是 Jostedalsbreen 冰川。这个冰川是小冰河时代的产物,可能不超过 2000 年的历史。

Jostedalsbreen 有许多冰川臂,其中三个延伸到了松恩峡湾的许多峡湾。Bøyabreen 冰川一直延伸到费耶尔兰峡湾,但著名的冰川,如 Nigaardsbreen、Tunsbergdalsbreen 和 Austerdalsbreen 也位于松恩峡湾附近。

在维京大地上

“峡湾”这个词最初是古斯堪的纳维亚语,意思是“用于通行和摆渡的地方”。这是合乎逻辑的,因为当人类在最后一个冰河时代之后最初定居挪威时,唯一的出行方式是通过水路。许多峡湾周围都是青铜时代和维京时代的遗迹。

由于墨西哥湾流输送的温水,挪威西海岸的峡湾基本上没有结冰。这使得一年四季都可以乘船旅行。温和的气候也使养殖业成为可能,沿海鱼类供应充足,以及为货物在峡湾和挪威沿海的居民区运输创造了绝佳机会。狩猎的机会也很好,森林里有麋鹿和梅花鹿,山上有驯鹿。

维京人如此喜欢西部峡湾也许并不奇怪。当您踏上另一个维京发现之旅时,您也不必走很远的路。

维京遗迹

维京时代从大约公元 800 年持续到公元 1066 年。在这段相对较短的时期内,维京人不仅在挪威文化上留下了他们的印记,在欧洲文化上也留下了他们的印记。他们最出名的可能是战争和抢劫,正如有些维京人题材的电视剧所描述的那样,但是维京人也忙于贸易。

由于他们高效的船只和巨大的勇气,再加上他们的冒险精神,维京人实际上到达拜占庭(今土耳其伊斯坦布尔),并与巴格达哈里发进行交易。

他们中的许多人还定居在法国、苏格兰和爱尔兰。其他人移民到冰岛,莱弗·艾瑞克森在公元 1000 年左右发现美洲时,他在一个以前不为人知的大陆上建立了一个定居点。

维京人不仅把财富和奴隶带回挪威,还带回基督教。大约在公元 1000 年左右,挪威信奉基督教之后,用木头建造了一些美丽而复杂的教堂。其中一些至今仍屹立不倒,沿着松恩峡湾可以找到三座木质教堂:乌尔内斯、蔲庞格和荷伯斯塔第。

其中最著名的是乌尔内斯木板教堂,它位于吕斯特峡湾岸边的奥恩农场。

回到维京时代

沿着峡湾,您会发现维京人贸易和定居点的证据。源自古斯堪的那维亚语的地名,如蔲庞格、索尔沃恩和居德旺恩,揭示了维京人在这里有他们的根。

如果您想花几个小时,一整天,甚至更长的时间来体验维京人的生活,您的机会来了。维京节、维京日和维京市场在挪威各地的许多城镇和村庄举行。

在居德旺恩的 Njardarheimr,在纳柔依峡湾深处,有一个维京村庄,在那里您可以亲身体验维京生活。

点击这里阅读更多关于居德旺恩的维京村以及到达那里的方法。

维京船和奥斯陆峡湾

维京人还在挪威东部和南部海岸建立了居住区。

您还可以在挪威东部找到峡湾,但与西海岸的峡湾不同,这里峡湾周围没有高耸的山脉。在这里,峡湾周围的“山脉”已经磨损,形成起伏的断崖—一种起伏不大的岩石景观。

该地区在冬季也有无冰港,气候温和,使养殖业成为可能。在这个地区,有许多维京人的痕迹,包括墓地和维京船。

在奥斯陆 Bygdée 半岛的维京船博物馆,在富有且有名的维京酋长的墓穴中发现了三艘维京船。

如果您将在奥斯陆逗留一段时间,我们建议您在众多郁郁葱葱的岛屿、海湾、海滩和岩石海岸之间乘坐峡湾游船,这些地方是当地人夏季最喜欢的地方。

如果您去往南部的峡湾,您会经过许多田园诗般的小岛屿,狭窄的 Drøbaksundet,一边是历史悠久的奥斯卡斯堡,另一边是迷人的小镇德勒巴克。

Psst!如果您想去拜访真正的圣诞老人,您可以在德勒巴克找到他。这里一年四季都在为圣诞节做准备。

好莱坞电影里的峡湾

如果您还没有在现实生活中见到挪威峡湾,您可能已经在电影中见过它们,只是您还没有意识到而已。挪威峡湾曾被用作一些主要电影的背景。

2013 年,纳柔依峡湾被用作华特·迪斯尼的《冰雪奇缘》的灵感来源。如果您知道在哪里可以找到的话,民俗服饰、建筑、迷信、巨魔、山脉和峡湾都能立刻辨认出来。

这就像峡湾是为电影而生的。在 2018 年的电影《碟中谍 6:全面瓦解》中,一些激烈的动作场景是在吕瑟峡湾和布道台拍摄的。在这里,汤姆·克鲁斯在令人惊叹的风景中为自己的生命而战。

美国的许多电影公司已经访问了挪威峡湾,以期拍摄《复仇者》和《星球大战》等影片中的片段。

Go to content
Hjorundfjord
Hjorundfjord
Aurlandfjord
Aurlandfjord
Naeroyfjord
Naeroyfjord
Geirnagerfjord
Geirnagerfjord
Naeroyfjord Winter
Naeroyfjord Winter
Puplpit Rock Lysefjord
Puplpit Rock Lysefjord
Fjaerlandfjord
Fjaerlandfjord
Geirangerfjord
Geirangerfjord

Everything You Should Know About Norwegian Fjords

Google "beautiful fjords" and chances are that Norway and Western Norway will appear at the top of the list. This is their story.

The deep, blue fjords of Norway which cut through wild mountains and stunningly beautiful landscapes are quite unlike anywhere else in the world. Of course, fjords are not just a Norwegian phenomenon. Other mountain regions around the world that have experienced ice ages normally have fjords too. However, many of the ice-free and most spectacular fjords can be found in Norway. The most famous of these are located in Western Norway too.

What is a fjord?

What is a fjord?

A fjord is a story of water, ice and mountains. Fjords are long, narrow inlets with steep sides or cliffs. They are formed through glaciers deepening existing valleys, and water and ice gradually wearing down the mountain masses. 

Unlike flowing water, glaciers can erode below sea level. Under the ice, stones and gravel are dragged along underneath and inside the glacier. In this way, the glacier acts like an enormous piece of sandpaper.

In Norway, we have had a total of 40 ice ages of varying durations. During each of the ice ages, ice, meltwater and gravel have worn away the rock. The result after each ice age is deeper and deeper valleys. The glaciers, water and gravel eventually carve out such a deep valley that the sea starts to flood in. This is how the Norwegian fjords were created.

Around 12,000 years ago, the ice retreated from Norway's largest fjord, Sognefjord. The result is the awe-inspiring fjord landscape that you see today.

Fjords and glaciers

Fjords and glaciers

Fjords can be very deep. Sognefjord is 1308 metres deep at its deepest, for example. When you add on the height of the surrounding mountains, you can get some idea of the enormous forces that have created and shaped the fjords we see today.

In some areas, glaciers still remain on land after the last ice age. These glaciers are both growing and retreating. Some of these glaciers were growing until the 1980s, but have now shrunk in both thickness and extent again. 

If you see an ice-green fjord, it means there is a glacier nearby. Here, the saltwater contains a lot of meltwater from the glaciers. The particles in the meltwater help give the fjord a beautiful emerald colour.

If you go to the uppermost reaches of Fjærlandsfjord, a fjord arm which projects out from Sognefjord, you can also get close to Norway’s largest glacier, Jostedalsbreen, where you can visit the Norwegian Glacier Museum.

You will find information on both half- and full-day trips on Fjærlandsfjord and to the glaciers.

Fjord Norway

Fjord Norway

Western Norway is best known as "Fjordland". The region is famous for its dramatic scenery, where the fjords are carved into the surrounding mountains. Over millions of years, ice and water have carved deep into the land masses, creating a labyrinth of valleys above and below water. Today, the wild and untamed landscape has become a magnet for tourists from all over the world.

Norway has over 1,700 named fjords dotted along the 57,000km-long Norwegian coast. Many of these fjords extend in from the west coast of Norway. This area is also home to two fjords featured on UNESCO’s World Heritage List: Nærøyfjord and Geirangerfjord.

These fjords are two of Norway's most popular tourist destinations, and it is not hard to see why. Steep mountainsides plummet into the glittering fjords, imposing waterfalls plunge straight down into the fjord, majestic and unspoiled nature and picturesque tiny villages and farms, clinging to the mountainside. It's a spectacle taken straight from the pages of a fairytale!

Nærøyfjord is narrow and surrounded by mountains towering over 1,000 metres above sea level. Geirangerfjord has fantastic vantage points from up high. From the fjord, you can get close to some of the fjord's beautiful waterfalls and tiny farms, which are still inhabited today.

Want to find out more about the most beautiful fjords of Norway? Here are some facts about six of the country's finest fjords.

1. Nærøyfjord — A long and beautiful UNESCO-listed fjord

1. Nærøyfjord — A long and beautiful UNESCO-listed fjord

Nærøyfjord is beautiful at any time of the year. The fjord has repeatedly been voted one of the world's most beautiful places to visit. US TV channel CNN included Nærøyfjord, along with Geirangerfjord, in their top 10 list of the natural wonders of the world.

National Geographic magazine has previously voted the fjord "The best unspoiled travel destination in the world". So it’s no surprise that the fjord features on UNESCO’s World Heritage list.

Nærøyfjord and its surrounding mountains are a breathtaking sight for anyone to behold.

At the head of Nærøyfjord, you will find the village of Gudvangen, where you can also visit the Viking village of Njardarheimr. Fjord cruises depart for both Sognefjorden and Flåm via Aurlandsfjord. The cruise offers many breathtaking sights, including cascading waterfalls and idyllic little villages where it is hard to believe anyone can actually live.

2. Mighty Lysefjord

2. Mighty Lysefjord

Lysefjord, which is over 40km long, has carved its way into the mighty mountain massif. The fjord is quite a sight from the water, but it is perhaps even more impressive when viewed from above. The two best-known attractions along the fjord are the mountain plateaus of Preikestolen and Kjerag.

Every year, over 30,000 visitors visit Preikestolen. From the mountain plateau, the cliff faces plunge vertically down to the sea, providing a dramatic spectacle. Preikestolen has even topped Lonely Planet’s list of the world’s “Most Breathtaking Viewing Platforms”. In 2017, the mountain plateau was awarded first place in CNN’s list of natural wonders.

Preikestolen is also the site of breakneck stunts by Tom Cruise in the most recent “Mission: Impossible” movie in 2018 (Fallout).

Lysefjord's other famous rock formation, Kjerag, is more challenging to reach on foot than Preikestolen. From this mountain plateau, the mountainsides plunge a spectacular 1084 near-vertical metres down to Lysefjord. Kjerag is a popular destination for base jumpers from around the world.

You will also find Kjeragbolten here, one of Norway's most photographed attractions. Kjeragbolten is an enormous boulder sandwiched between two rock faces. Daring tourists walk out onto the rock itself at Kjeragbolten, a favourite photo opportunity for visitors.

Lysefjord is easy to reach from Stavanger. If you have a day or two spare, you could also go on a day cruise on Lysefjord. If you have more time available, you could walk up to Preikestolen or Kjerag.

Read more about Lysefjord and fjord cruises here.

3. Fjærlandsfjord — the waterway to the glaciers

3. Fjærlandsfjord — the waterway to the glaciers

Little Fjærlandsfjord often has an emerald green hue caused by the meltwater which flows into the fjord from the surrounding glaciers. On a full-day cruise up the 25km-long fjord arm, you will experience a beautiful fjord surrounded not only by steep-sided mountains, but also by mighty glaciers. Once the ferry has docked at the head of Fjærlandsfjord, the trip continues on the shuttle bus.

On the tour, you can learn more about glaciers at the Norwegian Glacier Museum in Fjærland. From there, it is a short hop to what created the fjords in the first place: the glaciers. A little further inland, you will encounter Norway's largest glacier: Jostedalsbreen. One hundred kilometres long and 15 kilometres wide at its widest, the glacier is also the largest glacier on mainland Europe.

The glacier actually consists of many small glaciers and glacier arms, including Bøyabreen, which you will get close to.

4. Geirangerfjord — A picture postcard from Norway

4. Geirangerfjord — A picture postcard from Norway

If you have seen those picture postcards from Norway showing a beautiful bluey-green fjord, surrounded by steep mountains with waterfalls plunging into the water, it may well have been Geirangerfjord that you saw. It is often called the ‘Jewel of the Fjords’ and is much-loved by tourists, both from Norway and elsewhere. This scenic wonder of a fjord features in UNESCO’s World Heritage List, in good company with other gems such as Nærøyfjord, Bryggen in Bergen and Urnes Stave Church in Luster, situated near the shore of Lustrafjord, an arm of Sognefjord.

A cruise on Geirangerfjord will take you close to both nature and culture — everything that led the fjord to be included in UNESCO’s World Heritage List. Wild waterfalls cascade down from steep, towering mountains, while lower down on the flanks of the mountains, you'll see tiny farms and houses clinging to the mountainside.

You can see all this close up if you visit Skageflå farm, which can be reached on foot from Geiranger, or by boat followed by a walk up a short, steep path from the fjord.

If you get up high to Skageflå or one of the many other viewpoints, you can see the awe-inspiring UNESCO-listed fjord from its most spectacular side. From above. Another fine viewpoint is the Geiranger Skywalk on Dalsnibba.

If you have some time to spare in Geiranger, you can take trips inland to some of Norway's finest mountains. There is snow all year round here, and you can even have a snowball fight on a hot summer’s day!

Norway's most spectacular road, Trollstigen, is right next to Geiranger. An excursion along this road will set your pulse racing, whether you are walking, cycling or travelling by car.

If you would like to find out more or go on a fjord cruise on Geirangerfjord, you will find all the information you need here.

5. Hjørundfjord – Secret jewel of the Sunnmøre Alps

5. Hjørundfjord – Secret jewel of the Sunnmøre Alps

Hidden away, Hjørundfjord sparkles beneath the beautiful, wild Sunnmøre Alps. The fjord cuts 33 kilometres into the mountain massif with its pointed peaks.

Hjørundfjorden is surrounded by unspoiled nature and delightful little villages. Some places have no connection to the outside world other than by boat. The boat sails between the idyllic art nouveau town of Ålesund on the coast, and the village of Øye at the head of Hjørundfjord.

The wild and untamed nature in and around Hjørundfjord could almost have been made for activities and adventure. It is a paradise for hikers, kayakers and skiers. All you need to do to experience it is to jump off the fjord cruise at Trandal, Urke or Øye.

If you would prefer to take it easy and soak up the atmosphere, visit the historic Hotel Union Øye, a venerable hotel that has numbered royalty, authors and composers amongst its guests since it opened in 1891. Many people continue to seek tranquility and enjoy the good life here with a view of the fjords and mountains.

6. Sognefjord — Norway's longest fjord

6. Sognefjord — Norway's longest fjord

Mighty Sognefjord extends across much of Western Norway. Norway's longest fjord is 204 kilometres long and is home to both rich culture and breathtaking scenery.

The landscape of Sognefjord is the perfect setting for tranquil fjord cruises, memorable hikes, skiing, fishing and glacier tours. This is mindfulness at its finest.

Sognefjord is also the world's longest ice-free fjord. It extends so far into mainland Norway that it is ends just a few kilometres from Jotunheimen, a mountainous area where you will find most of Norway's highest peaks. Sognefjord is also one of Norway's deepest fjords, being no less than 1,300 metres deep at its deepest point.

No fewer than 30 fjord arms branch off as the glacier wends its way into the mountains of Western Norway. Aurlandsfjord, Nærøyfjord - which features on UNESCO’s World Heritage List, Fjærlandsfjord, Lustrafjord, Sogndalsfjord and Gaupnefjord are just a few of them. 

Norway's largest glacier

Some of the valleys which carry on where the fjord ends have a glacier at the end. The fjords that receive the meltwater from the glaciers have a distinctive emerald green colour. This becomes clearly visible when meltwater from the glaciers colours the fjords green.

The largest glacier on the European mainland is the Jostedalsbreen glacier. This glacier is the result of the Little Ice Age and is probably no more than 2,000 years old.

Jostedalsbreen has many glacier arms, three of which extend towards Sognefjord's many fjords. The Bøyabreen glacier extends down to Fjærlandsfjord, but well-known glaciers such as Nigaardsbreen, Tunsbergdalsbreen and Austerdalsbreen are also situated close to Sognefjord.

In the land of the Vikings

In the land of the Vikings

The word “fjord” is originally Old Norse and means "a place used for passage and ferrying". This is logical enough, because when humans originally settled in Norway after the last ice age, travelling on the water was the only way to get around. Around many of the fjords are relics of both the Bronze Age and the Viking Age.

The fjords along the west coast of Norway were largely ice-free due to the warm water transported there by the Gulf Stream. It made travel by boat possible all year round. The mild climate also made farming possible, there was a plentiful supply of fish along the coast along with excellent opportunities to transport goods to and from the settlements in the fjords and along the Norwegian coast. The hunting was good too, with elk and deer in the forests, and reindeer on the mountains.

It’s perhaps not that surprising that the Vikings liked the western fjords so much. You also did not have to travel very far when it was time to set off on another Viking voyage of discovery.

Viking relics

The Viking Age lasted from around 800 to 1066. In this relatively short period of time, the Vikings managed to leave their mark not only on Norwegian culture, but in Europe too. They are probably best known for warring and looting, as portrayed by “The Vikings” TV series, but the Vikings were just as occupied with trading.

Thanks to their highly efficient vessels and a large helping of courage, not to mention an adventurous spirit, the Vikings actually got as far as Byzantium (modern day Istanbul, Turkey) and traded with the Baghdad caliphate.

Many of them also settled in France, Scotland and Ireland. Others emigrated to Iceland, and Leiv Eiriksson established a settlement on a previously unknown continent when he discovered America around the year 1000.

The Vikings brought back not only riches and slaves with them to Norway, but also Christianity. After the conversion of Norway to Christianity, which began around the year 1000, a number of beautiful and intricate stave churches were built from timber. Some of these are still standing, and three stave churches can be found along Sognefjord: Urnes, Kaupanger and Hopperstad.

The most famous of these is Urnes Stave Church, which is situated at Ornes farm on the shore of Lustrafjord.

Head back in time to the Viking Age

Along the fjords, you will find evidence of trade and settlements. The place names which originate from the Old Norse language, such as Kaupanger, Solvorn and Gudvangen, reveal that the Vikings had their roots here.

if you would like to spend a few hours, a whole day or even longer sampling what life as a Viking was like, this is your chance. Viking festivals, Viking days and Viking markets take place in many towns and villages across Norway.

At Njardarheimr in Gudvangen, deep in Nærøyfjord, you will find a Viking village where you can experience what Viking life was like for yourself.

Here, you can read more about the Viking village in Gudvangen and how to get there.

Viking ship and Oslofjord

Viking ship and Oslofjord

The Vikings also built up communities along the east and south coast of Norway.

You will also find fjords in the east of Norway, but unlike those on the west coast, there are no towering mountains surrounding the fjords here. Here, the "mountains" around the fjords have been worn down to form undulating bluffs — a relatively gentle and rolling rocky landscape.

This area also had ice-free harbours in winter and a mild climate which made farming possible. In this area, there are many traces of the Vikings, including burial mounds and Viking ships.

Three Viking ships found in the burial mounds of rich and prominent Viking chieftains can be seen at the Viking Ship Museum on the Bygdøy peninsula in Oslo.

If you’re spending some time in Oslo, we recommend a fjord cruise between the many lush islands, coves, beaches and rocky shores which are a favourite place amongst locals in the summer.

If you head south on the fjord, you will pass many small idyllic islands, the narrow Drøbaksundet sound, with historic Oscarsborg on one side and the attractive little town of Drøbak on the other.

Psst! If you would like to visit the real Father Christmas, you will find him in Drøbak. Christmas preparations take place all year round here.

Fjords in Hollywood

Fjords in Hollywood

If you have yet to see the Norwegian fjords in real life, you might have already seen them in the movies without even realising it. Norwegian fjords have been used as a backdrop to some major film productions.

In 2013, Nærøyfjord was used as inspiration for Walt Disney's "Frost". Folk costumes, buildings, superstitions, trolls, mountains and fjords are all instantly recognisable if you know where to look.

It is almost as if the fjords were made for action. Some of the most intense action scenes in “Mission: Impossible - Fallout”, were filmed in Lysefjord and at Preikestolen in 2018. Here, Tom Cruise fights for his life in an awe-inspiring landscape.

US film companies have visited the Norwegian fjords with a view to filming sequences in productions such as The Avengers and Star Wars.